top of page

I hope you like it

I love making things for people. I love when they look at it and get that "oh my goodness I can't believe you made this for me" look in their eyes. It makes my heart swell.


But, sometimes, they say something that makes me sad. Sometimes they will say, "oh my goodness this is so absolutely gorgeous. I'm going to put it away so it doesn't get ruined."



Oh my poor little heart. I want to scream and yell, "No! Please, use it! I made it to be used!" But, usually I just smile politely and say thank you.



Let me let you in on a not so little secret. When creators create things for you, we want you to use them. We think about who we're making the item for. Then, we select the perfect material for the project so that it will hold up to the expected use. Some of us even include care instructions when we the item. Really, we want you to use it! Really. I'm looking at you all you well meaning mamas.



When my husband's niece was born, I started crocheting stuffed animals for her. I love the text message from his sister about how excited the little one is to get them. They are soft and cuddly and made for love. They aren't pieces to be put up on a shelf and looked at. I love that they are getting the love they deserve.



There really isn't much that gives me more joy than getting pictures of someone truly loving the gift I gave them. So please. Use and enjoy those handmade gifts. Oh, and if you use it so much so that you need it to be repaired, be still my beating heart!!!

Comments


bottom of page