top of page

Make your own granny square bag

The other day, I was out window shopping and at a really, REALLY expensive store there were these adorable, lined granny square hand bags. Well, if you know anything about me, you know that I AM NOT going to pay over $200 for a bag that there is a strong chance that I can reproduce in colors I actually choose. So, I set to work.





Steps to creating a granny square bag:

1. Make 3 of your favorite granny squares.

2. Cut squares of fabric slightly larger than your granny squares.

3. Join your granny squares using your favorite joining technique to create the bag shape.

4. Repeat that process with the fabric.

5. Hem the unfinished edges of the liner.

6. Slide liner into crocheted bag with the seams facing the crochet, you want the inside of the bag to be neat and tidy.

7. Sew the edge of the liner to the bag.

8. Create a handle, any length and style you want.

9. Attach handle to bag.

10 Enjoy!



Make 3 of your favorite granny squares


Cut fabric a little bigger than your granny squares


Attach your squares using your favorite join


Fold your corners in

Join them in place

Sew your liner together

Fold your liner corners in

Sew the edges together to form a bag

Hem any unfinished edges on your liner

Slide your liner into the crocheted bag, seams facing the bag, clean side visible

Make a handle, any type you want

Attach your handle to your bag however makes you happy

A finished lined granny square bag


I hope you all enjoyed my new blog style. I am trying to make it more accommodating for different people. Hopefully this worked out.


As always, and especially since this is more a tutorial than a pattern, feel free to sell anything you make.


I would love to see any granny square bags you make so tag me on Instagram @handmadewithlovebykris on Facebook @Handmadewithlovebykris or even on Twitter @KrisHandmadeLuv.


I really truly hope that I have managed to inspire you to create something beautiful that you'll love!


Until inspiration strikes me again,

Kris


bottom of page