top of page

Bean Stitch Boot Cuff Pattern

A few weeks ago, I learned the bean stitch. I don't know why it took this many years for me to stumble across it, but, it did. I cannot stress how obsessed I am with it now. I have never been a huge fan of the puff stitch, it always seemed to be lacking something. The bean stitch, which truly is just the puff stitch without the first loop over, is so much better. It is prettier and more elegant. It produces such a nice look.


The other day I completed an adorable buttoned bean stitch cowl. The only problem was that I was left with a smidge of matching yarn. I looked and looked for patterns that I could use it up on.

I finally decided that I wanted to make boot cuffs that almost matched the cowl. The pattern writer of the cowl had a matching boot cuff pattern, unfortunately it would require more yarn than I had.


Enter my ability to create. Here is my version of the bean stitch boot cuff.



Bean Stitch boot cuffs in brown boots on wood planks

Hook: 5mm

Yarn: 105 yards of size 4, heavy Aran, I used Lionbrand Landscapes in Volcano


Difficulty: Easy


Special Stitches:

Bean stitch- insert hook into indicated stitch, yo draw up a loop, yo, draw up a loop two more times, 6 loops on hook, yo, pull through, ch 1 to close stitch. The bean stitch creates two stitches for every bean.


BLO: Back Loop Only


Notes: Boot cuffs are worked in rows to create ribbed cuff, then joined, and worked in the round to create the decorative top.



Cuffs:


Make two.

Chain 12



Chain 12

Row 1: hdc in second ch from hook, and in each ch across. (10 sts)






Row 2: Ch 2, turn. blo hdc in each st across. (10 sts)










Rows 3-22: repeat row 2.
























Row 23: blo hdc in each st across. Ch 1, bring chain of cuff around to make a tube, line up stitches and sl st across through back loop of half double crochet and back bump of chain to close tube. Do not break yarn, pivot work in order to stitch along raw edge of cuff.











Round 1: Ch 1, keeping right side facing, 3 sc in approximately every 2 stitches evenly and loosely around top of cuff, join with a sl st in top of first sc. (3 sts for approximately every two rows for a total of 36 sts)











Round 2: Ch 1 skip first st, bean stitch in next st, (sk st, bean stitch in next stitch) around. Join to first bean made with a sl st. (18 bean St)






Rounds 3-5: Ch 1, turn. Bean stitch in same st, bean stitch in next bean stitch around. Join to first bean made with a sl st. (18 bean St)






Round 6: Keeping right side facing you, ch1, sc in each st and chain space around, join in first sc with sl st. (36 SC) Fasten off, weave in ends.






Bean stitch boot cuffs on wooden planks

I hope you enjoy your boot cuffs. If so, please tag me on instagram @handmadewithlovebykris facebook @HandmadewithLoveByKris or Twitter @krishandmadeluv so I can see your final products!



Distributing, reselling, rewriting or sharing of this pattern (or its photos) is prohibited. You may of course sell the finished product but listing it for sale using my photos is NOT allowed.


If you have any questions regarding this pattern, please message me via FB or Instagram.


Thank you again!

Kris


Get the downloadable PDF for just $1.99 from Ravelry or for $2.99 from Etsy.




Comments


bottom of page