top of page

My life as a "hooker"

As I stated a while ago, I have been living with chronic pain now for 10 months. I haven't been able to workout, I haven't been able to work, I have barely been able to get off the couch. These things are not me. So, what was a super active girl like me to do?

Well, I picked up my crochet hooks and became a much better "hooker". Before this began, I had loads of yarn just sitting around the house. I struggled at crocheting. I could barely make a scarf, let alone anything more exotic.

My beautiful woman in her awesome hat!

I am now almost completely out of all yarn, have spent oodles on yarn and have become so much more accomplished.

One of my favorite projects that I learned how to do was an adorable teddy bear. I have made 4 teddy bears and on kitty cat using the same pattern, they are so adorable.

For Christmas, I made presents for all of Joe's family. Why buy them gifts when I had loads of free time on my hands and couldn't do much more than crochet?

I made a mermaid tail!

You can't tell, but it shimmers!

I made myself a throw, which I am thoroughly in love with and don't ever want to stop cuddling.

And I have begun making myself clothing! Well, ok, crop tops. I like crop tops because they are quick to work up and they don't take a ton of yarn. But, I plan to make more exciting clothes now that I have begun practicing clothes. Maybe some cardigans, or pretty pretty skirts. Of course, all of this means more money spent on yarn, but also the ability to say that I made it myself!

I even made a crown fit for a king!

Before this injury, all I could make were lopsided scarves. Now, I feel like a pro! If you like to crochet, or knit, and are looking for patterns, you have to go to Ravelry.com! They have literally thousands of patterns that are free!

Happy hooking, or knitting if that is what you prefer!

bottom of page