top of page

Bone Daddy/Hommage to Abominable Hood

A few weeks ago, I did a photo tutorial for the Burlap Chap hood. As I mentioned, I purchased a few of her patterns when I purchased that one. I bought the Twisted Toadstool pattern, which I did and it came out adorably using just one cake of Lion Brand Mandala yarn.





I bought the Wasteland Aviator hat pattern. It took approximately 2 skeins of Big Twist Tweed yarn. It would have come out better had I, you know, read the pattern.



And I bought the Bone Daddy pattern, because Nightmare Before Christmas. The most time consuming part of which is the snake that attaches to the back of the hood.



I love me a good pixie hat, and this pattern is a good pixie hat. After I finished this guy up, I had an inspiration. I would make the pattern again, but make it as an hommage to Abominable Snowman from Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer. He is one of my favorite characters from that movie. Every year, my hubby and I go to Seaworld and get out picture taken with him...and of course with Santa...but I HAVE to see Abominable while I am there.


And since I was doing this pattern again, I figured it would be the perfect time to do a photo tutorial for anyone that's been struggling with the pattern.



We start with color one, I'm using blue, for Bone Daddy, you would be using black. Half Double Crochet in a magic ring.


4 Half double crochet in the magic ring. Slip stitch in the first stitch and pull closed, weave in end. If you don't like using a magic ring, I am sure you could do a chain 2, 4 half double in the second chain from the hook, slip stitch in first half double. At that point you would weave in your end super tight so that there wasn't a hole. Either way, you have a tiny bowl of 4 half doubles with a slip stitch join.


Row 2 is done in color 1. Chain 1 and half double according to pattern.




At this point, I do mine a smidge different than the pattern designer, because I feel I get a cleaner seam this way. I slip stitch row 2 closed by drawing up color 2, white. DO NOT CUT COLOR ONE!!!!





You are going to be bringing your colors up with you as you work, alternating colors every 2 rows. You don't want to crochet over your carried colors. I know in some patterns you do, here, you just want to loosely carry them up.



This is what the inside of my hood looks like when I finish carrying the colors the whole way up.




Complete round 3 and round 4 following the directions in the pattern. When you do the slip stitch to close round 4 pull color 1 (blue/black) through instead of color 2 (white). It gives it such a pretty seam.


Keep working in the round following the pattern instructions for increases and bringing up the new color after every even row.



My hat at the end of round 34, such a satisfying seam. At this point, you can cut color one and weave it in. Keep color 2, white, on your hook. We are going to restart our row counting now.



Part 2, row 1, chain is made from color 2 that is still attached to the hat.




Half double crochet down the back bumps of the chain. Then you slip stitch into the next two stitches around the edge of hood. Don't chain, turn. Work back and forth up and down this weird little tail piece. TRUST THE PATTERN!!! Trust that the pattern is going to do what you want it to do. It will, think of this section as that awkward growing phase in middle school.





Part 2 Rows 1-8 completed. Yep, now you have a cone with some sort of weird flap. That's totally what you're looking for.



Part 2 Row 9, you work in the the already worked stitch on the edge of the cone.



And the next 43 stitches around the edge of the cone.



Half Double in the join from part 1 round 34.



Half double up the part 2 starting chain.



From here on out, you are going to be working back and forth. I chose to work in the back loops only for texture on the Abominable hood, but not for the Bone Daddy hood, it's totally up to you. Work back and forth following the pattern instructions.



The last two rows are worked in the round. The final row is worked in color 1. I like working the final row in the crab stitch, reverse single crochet. Some people absolutely despise that stitch, so if you hate it, just do it in single crochet.



Attach the yarn to the hood and create the braids.


At this point, if you are doing the Bone Daddy Hood, you would go onto creating the face pieces and sewing them on, then making the snake, which is done pretty much exactly like the start of the hood, the pixie portion.




For Abominable, I decided not to make a face, but instead made a giant, that thing is at least 3 inches across, pom pom and attached it to the tail of the hood where the snake would normally attach.




And just that easily, you have a super adorable pixie hood.




I hope that this tutorial helped you out if you were stuck. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to me.


Stay awesome everyone!


Kris









Comments


bottom of page