top of page

Oogie Boogie/Sorting Hat Walkthrough

Good day everyone! On July 25th my cousin sent me an image of an a-maz-ing coat. I was mesmerized. It was an Oogie Boogie coat, based off of Oogie Boogie from Nightmare Before Christmas, of course. I dug in and found out that is was a mash up pattern. The artist had combined the Serged Dreamcoat from Crochetverse, the pattern to which I own and have on the maybe someday list, with the Burlap Chap Hood from The Twisted Hatter.


I have looked at The Twisted Hatter patterns so many times without buying them. But this motivated me. I knew I wasn't going to make the whole coat, but darn it, I wanted to make the hood at least. So I bought that pattern...and several others. I found the yarn I wanted to use, and I was off to the hooking.


It took me over 18 hours to crochet the whole thing, mainly because I didn't trust the pattern and ripped out over half of it at one point, only to put it all back together. The end result though? Phenomenal.



After making it, though, I stated on my Ravelry page that if I made another one, I would do a photo tutorial.


I put this beauty out at my booth at several different farmer's markets and craft fairs. So many people came running up to it screaming, "Oh my goodness, its the sorting hat from Harry Potter!!!" Then realizing that it was in fact not the sorting hat immediately loosing interest in everything in my booth. Thus is life. But, I decided to go ahead and make this pattern again, but this time make the sorting hat. AAAAANNNDDD do a photo walkthrough while making it. Pick up a copy of the pattern from The Twisted Hatter and let's do this bad boy.


The pattern starts fairly straight forward, you have to make 2 triangle pieces to begin the hood.




You fasten off the first triangle, leaving a super long tail to attach the two pieces together.




You don't fasten off the second triangle. At this point, you are going to restart your row count. You are also going to join the two pieces together by slip stitching the last stitches of each triangle together.





Slip stitch in the first 9 stitches of piece one after the join.



Chain out from the 9th slip stitch in piece 1.



Half double crochet your way down the back bumps of the chain.




Half double crochet in the last 9 stitches of piece 1.




Now you attach piece 1 to piece2 with a half double crochet in the first stitch of piece 2.




Half double crochet across the rest of piece 2.




Half double crochet in the 9 slip stitches in piece one and and the 17 chains that you did out of the 9th slip stitch. You end up with two connected triangles and a weird tail looking thing.




At this point, I whip stitch the two triangles together to make it into the cone shape. I don't like sewing in ends at the end of a project, it really really irks me. But, if you don't mind waiting, you can leave the top open if you really want to.


From here out, you are going to be working in rows with measured increases back and forth from the last stitch you did while attaching the two halves at the end of the chain to the first stitch in the back bump of the chain.




This is how it looks after you finish row two. Trust the pattern. I didn't the first time...I spent a lot of time ripping it out and restitching it back in. Work the pattern back and forth following the increase directions. The last two rows are worked in the round.


Make the face pieces, which are a lot easier than you would think, then comes the most grueling part, even the pattern designer acknowledges it, the sewing them all on part.


And voila you are done!




I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial! Keep your eyes peeled, a Bone Daddy Tutorial is coming soon.


Kris

Comments


bottom of page